Almost up….

Published January 9, 2014 by Tritrigirl

I’ve been sick for the past week.  Hate allergies.  Like, really hate them.  On New Years Eve I started to feel sick.  Spent the night at home with two puppies watching Dr. Who instead of going out.  It was kinda sad.  But then on the 1st I thought it wasn’t anything too bad.  Cleaned the house, went to lunch with a friend.  The 2nd, I thought I was going to die.  Turns out the cedar pollen count here rose exponentially all of a sudden.  So I went to urgent care, got some steroids and figured I’d be better by the weekend.  NOPE.  I swear I got worse before I even started to feel remotely better.

With the start of the new year I was going to get started on my Triathlon training for this upcoming season.  I’ve got goals, you know.  I’d also like to do a Spartan Race this year and maybe get into more of the adventure races.  Plus I’ve gained at least 10 pounds in the last 5 months.  So I had this whole plan, training, an Advocare cleanse, diet modifications, cut out drinking, etc.  But when you get tired just taking a shower…you’re not getting up at 5:00 am to go to an X-Training session held by one of the triathlon groups.  *sigh*

I’m staying “down” until Saturday.  Then I think I’ll try to go for a walk.  Maybe a short ride on Sunday afternoon.  Monday, I’ll walk and try to hit yoga.  Then Tuesday I’ll start the X-Training.  10 weeks of Tuesday  / Thursday 5:00 am’s.  I’m dreading it already, but looking forward to it at the same time.  I’m just not well enough yet.  I’ve got at least 6 triathlons I want to do this year.  At least 1 Spartan Race and at least 1 Ride.  Ideally I’d be up for a half Ironman this fall.  That’s a dream I’ve been chasing for a couple years now.  I was on track in 2012 but a bad ankle sprain took me out and ruined the 2013 season.  2013 wasn’t a great year.

I think 2014 will be.  I’m optimistic.  Now if I can just get better!

4 comments on “Almost up….

  • It’s hard to start the year off with high aspirations and low energy. Believe me, I am right there with you. All I have had the energy to do is work on my dream race calendar for the year and know I am even more impatient to start training! I guess with a start like this in 2014, it can only get better, right? Hope you are feeling better!

  • Starting off the year being sick…sucks. But I can’t see anything sad about vegging out to TV with puppies for company. That’s got to be the perfect recipe for cozy happy time.

  • Leave a Reply

