So this is what 5:15 smells like…

Published January 14, 2014 by Tritrigirl

To be honest, I’m not one of those early morning, let’s get the work out over with and the day started kinda gals. I’m one of those…well…if I go to bed now (12:00 am) I can get up at 8:00 and be done before I have to be at my desk (thankfully I work from home) at 9:00. Then I toss and turn until 1:00 or so and finally get up around 8:45 am. It’s really rare that I work out before work. Although sometimes I can get a ride in, but that requires me to go to bed before 11:00 pm and frankly that just doesn’t happen as often as it should.

So I had this brilliant idea to sign up for boot camp through Tough Cookies Triathlon group…figured I could meet some people, get started on training for the season and get my work outs in early. They meet at 5:45 am. This means I have to leave by 5:25 am at the latest, which translates into my ass has to be up around 5:00 – 5:10 am on Tuesdays and Thursdays. I have yoga Monday / Wednesday nights which doesn’t get out until 8:30 pm, which contributes to why I end up staying up so late those nights (the others are just due to my body’s rhythms. My mom swears I’ve had the same sleeping patterns my entire life – up late, sleep late, needing 7-9 hours consistently). And I just can’t wind down that easily.

Being nervous that I’d oversleep (and I did consider it at 5:00 am – accidentally “sleeping in”) I slept like crap. Waking up every couple of hours to check the clock. *sigh*

But I did get up and haul my cookies (HA) to boot camp. It was dark and cold (42F – PS – in Texas, that’s cold). But I went, it was hard, but I did it (and got compliments) and it was kinda fun. As much fun as a night owl can have at a 5:45 am boot camp. Did you know that when it’s dark, laps around the track don’t seem to take FOREVER? That’s because you can’t see the other side of the track, so no focusing on how FAR away the end is. 😉 We were done in an hour or so. I met some cool chicks and I’ll definitely be going for the next 10 weeks because I made the commitment and apparently think that I can actually get up that early twice a week. I’ll be sore as hell tomorrow though, but in a good way. They wanted me to go to a meeting tonight for a huge bike ride in April the MS 150. But I’m not up for 150 (see yesterday’s post) just yet, maybe next year.

I have to confess I came home and napped until (wait for it) 8:45 am. Some things never change. Maybe as I get used to this I’ll go swim or ride after…but let’s not get ahead of ourselves just yet. 😀

One comment on “So this is what 5:15 smells like…

  • I can barely sleep the night before something new and exciting, I wake up all night, afraid to oversleep. Well, I do that if I am excited, nervous or anxious the night before. Well done though, you made your first meet. Thinking of cycling 150 miles gives me sympathy “seat” pain! As far as I am concerned, I see nothing wrong with an early morning nap. 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

