“I have a tailor made hat from my sweetheart…”

Published February 5, 2014 by Tritrigirl

That I won’t take off no matter where I go.  I have nickname for my tailor made hat that I call Loyal, ’cause that’s what it is.  So, I don’t need no Medicine Man to chop my wood.  I just need a man that’s loyal and wouldn’t if he could.

-Medicine Man, Nico Vega

This is one of my favorite songs from them, although really I love all the songs on their album.  It comes to mind today from a roundabout place and because it popped up in rotation on the Media Player.

Last December after my brother had back surgery I went up to Idaho for my Stepmom’s 50 birthday and to spend some more time with my nephew who’d recently turned one.  My brother was up in bed and my sister in law was taking a shower so I got to rock the baby to sleep and ended up singing this song to him repeatedly until he passed out because I know all the words by heart and don’t feel like an idiot when I sing this song because it’s in my range.  I love my nephew.  I joke that as long as my brother and sister in law have babies then maybe I don’t need to have any because it sure is a lot of fun to play with the baby and then hand him off to his parents and fix myself a drink (and my brother and sister in law because I’m that awesome).

I guess I’m that Aunty…after all I did get him a t-shirt from Mayhem Fest that says “My Aunt Rocks” and tye-dyed onesies for him.

facebook_-412932674

Lennon and me, August 2013.

Well all this came to mind because my oldest step-cousin, Nathaniel, and his, um, girlfriend are expecting their first baby.  Which is further entertaining because his parents are uber-Christian, as in homeschooling their kids Christian, and both the oldest kids have or are having kids out of wedlock.  Frankly, I don’t care about their religion or their views on babies out of wedlock.  I respect their beliefs and I love my family and support their choices.  But I can’t help but chuckle at the situation.

In some ways it further shows how late (?) I am to the procreating thing.  I’ve never been married and honestly don’t know if that’s in the cards for me.  I love children and have helped raise the NCBF’s for 8 years now but am not sure if I want my own, not to mention the potential complications I mentioned yesterday.  Again, something that I don’t know if it’s in the cards for me.  Besides, the cat and dogs don’t typically talk back and although they don’t clean up after themselves they aren’t usually too difficult to clean up after.  And not usually anymore disgusting either.

But I know my family ( read Dad, Stepmom, Brother and Sister-in-law) want me to have kids.  My mom’s stance is, if your heart doesn’t ache for kids then it’s okay to not have them.  (Bless you Mama)  My best friend, who shares the same name as me, is pregnant with her second child at 41 and I see how hard that is for her.  Besides, some days I’m doing good just to be taking care of myself, let alone a mini-me (can we throw temper tantrums together?).

That’s all I got for today.  We’re polar vortexing and supposed to freeze the next couple of days, but it’s sunny.  (Small miracles)  Procrastinating work and pumping myself up to go to the gym in a bit so I don’t feel quite so bad about the Stone beer (Enjoy By IPA – mmmmm) I’m going to consume tonight.  Will try to limit to one, but if it’s amazing no guarantees.  Happy Wednesday all!

Leave a Reply

