And the jury is……..OUT

Published February 11, 2014 by Tritrigirl

Today I have jury duty.  In my teeny tiny town of Pville, TX.  Honestly, until I got the summons I had NO idea we had that sort of thing here.  I’ve been called to County jury duty before but it was cancelled.  I was desperately (seems to be a theme some days) hoping it would be cancelled today, but alas, freezing weather and rainy day be damned we got jury duty to go to.  (School was on a 2 hour delay this morning for “winter weather.”)

I have no clothes for jury duty…remember I gained a bunch of weight and nothing fits?  Yeah.  Good times.  So this will be interesting.  I could have gone shopping last weekend, but I forgot and shopping usually brings on fits of tears in the dressing rooms as I have to get larger sizes so let’s not go there.  I am trying to be kind to myself, I only just started training again and the weight will come off.  I just have to be patient.  I’m not asking for a total transformation but I’d like to be comfortable in my clothes and not feel like a pregnant water buffalo.

Also, noticed how I mentioned freezing and rainy?  Well I can’t pick the kids up from school and while I made sure to bundle them up against the cold when walking home we did not prepare for rain.  FAIL.  Hopefully the current break in the rain will continue until they can get home.  Otherwise I may have to beg and plead to find someone to pick them up or let them be the big boys that they are and walk the less than 1 mile home.  I’m sure I did it uphill (both ways) in 1 foot (or was it 6 feet?) of snow when I was their age.  I know they’ll survive, but I feel guilty.  They know why I can’t pick them up and I did suggest if one of the other kids from math tutoring was being picked up if they could ask for a ride home.  We’ll see how it works out.

So, I’m fretting over them and fretting over my clothes for jury duty which really boils down to a lot of worry and stress and would it be wrong to show up to jury duty fortified by a wee dram of excellent whiskey?  Work out is a bust today.  I have no idea when I’ll be done and the kids’ swim practice has been cancelled.  I can take them to the gym, but I have the sneaking suspicion that I’ll just want to cook them a warm and comforting dinner and send their little asses to bed early instead of going to the gym and sweating my artfully applied make up off.

Did I mention I’m wearing panty hose (PS – spell check does not like the word panty, it would prefer pant or pantry instead)?  I detest panty hose, but it’s cold and the only thing I can find in my closet is a knee length skirt.  OY.  Wish me luck that I’m done early .

 

2 comments on “And the jury is……..OUT

  • Leave a Reply

