Carry On….

Published February 28, 2014 by Tritrigirl

I realized that it’s the end of the month and it’s time to seriously look at my Triathlon training.

Sadly I haven’t been as good about the rigorous training regimen that I wanted to follow.  I’ve swam once in the past month and only ridden and ran 2 or 3 times.  I’ve got a little over 9 weeks to go for the first race of the season and I’m no where near as motivated or “ready” as I’d like to be.  I want to finish in less than 1:45:00.  My time last year was 1:44:34 and it was a slow race with a whole lot of issues happening.  For one the water was actually colder than the air temperature but it was so unseasonably chilly that my water bottles didn’t unfreeze until half way through the bike and I’m not sure I warmed up until close to the end of the bike.

It’s a short course.  Easy enough, 500 meter swim, 12 mile ride, 2 mile run.  I should be able to get through it.  In the past training has been pretty strict, prioritized…until I got hurt.  It sucks that a year and a half later I’m still dealing with it.  Scott and I use to spending half the weekends training, dragging the boys along even.  But after last spring when I had met someone and we “broke up” for a few months our training buddy system has derailed.  He has almost no interest in training with me.  Well, let me rephrase…he kinda sorta wants to, but not really.  He’ll swim with me but that’s about it.  Realistically we don’t “train” together.  He usually leaves me in the dust.

But starting this weekend that’s going to change.  If I have to read a ton of old Triathlon magazines, I will do it.  I need to get motivated.  I need to get on with the two-a-day work outs I’ve been putting off.  I need to make swimming and running a priority.  I need to get my ass in gear.  This season is a clean slate since last year was so fubar-ed.  I’ve got my old times from the last few years but I’m not going to focus on them.  Perhaps just use them as gauge to see how far I’ve come.  I want to get a new heart rate monitor to implement into training.

There are various schools of Tri training…and one of them is heart rate based.  I used this method my first year or so and it’s a great way to get into things.  Scott bought me a waterproof MP3 player to help with the dullness of lap swimming.  I should also review some old training plans and see what I can pick and choose.  I’ve only got a ton of them in magazines, in books, in fact I have 1 book completely dedicated to training plans based on your level of fitness and the distance you’re working for.  Right now it’s just Sprint distances.  August will mark the start of the Olympic distances and hopefully October will bring my first half Ironman.  I’m thinking that if I stay focused I should probably be able to up training plans to Olympic distances.  Depending on my diligence over the next couple of months.

I’m going to try to start the two-a-days next week and carry those through to the beginning of July.  At that point it gets so hot here that it’s hard to get good training sessions in.  Maybe we’ll have a mild summer (yeah, right.  Just jinxed that), maybe I’ll be able to get some base work in between now and then.  Tomorrow’s our run day, hoping to get to yoga after and then ride Sunday with yoga around noon.

Tonight we’re heading to Cirque du Soleil.  Should be a lot of fun.  We’re all getting dressed up and I’ve made us dinner reservations.  Hoping to make ribs on Saturday and some roast corn.  Started the Advocare 24 day challenge yesterday.  Slept about 9 hours last night.  It’s a beautiful day.  Here’s to starting March off right!

“Carry on my wayward son.  There’ll be peace when you are done.  Lay your weary head to rest.  Don’t you cry no more.”  – Carry On Wayward Son – Kansas  (Been catching up on Supernatural)

Have a great weekend!

3 comments on “Carry On….

  • Thanks! Some days are harder than others and I get frustrated easily knowing how far I had come before getting hurt. Such a pain in the ass. I have to focus on now and try not to worry too much about last season.

  • You can’t fix yesterday, you can only fix right NOW:-) What you do right here makes tomorrow a different day. So, get up and do something different. Even if you don’t go swim, run or ride the bike. Do squats, pushups and jumping jacks. These conditioning exercises will help your body build muscle and increase your endurance/stamina. You don’t have to go anywhere to get into better shape. No excuses, just do it 10 minutes:-)

  • Leave a Reply

