Lots, lots, lots and Lots…

Published March 19, 2014 by Tritrigirl

Last night I heard from my cousin and my grandma is continuing to decline.  She’s not sure how much longer she’ll hold on but she was suggesting that I might want to come see her, just in case.  She could rally, but I can hear the fear and worry and stress coming from my cousin in her message.  So I booked a last minute flight and will be heading up to Couer d’Alene next week to see my grandma and spend some time with my family.  Unfortunately my dad, stepmom, brother and his girlfriend won’t be there.

On one hand it’s okay since then I don’t have to stress between spending time with them and my other brother, sister in law and nephew (they all get along now but it’s a lot of family to catch up with and inevitably a whole lot of drama) and on the other, I really hope nothing happens to my grandma while they’re out of town.  My dad would never forgive himself.  But I’m in a shitty mood and feel like, if something happens and you didn’t take advantage of being in close proximity to her and visiting her before you left town then it serves you right.  Yes, I’m an awful daughter.  But there’s a whole background story there that I’m not going into right now.

To sum up – Grandma has Alzheimer’s and my stepmom originally thought her “forgetfulness” was to get attention and my dad just can’t handle this whole thing.  My cousin, who’s a lawyer, took control of the situation and got her into a great facility and is spending time with her regularly.  My dad and stepmom do not…the facility is 15 minutes from their house.  To be fair my other grandmother is 2 hours from my house and I don’t see her nearly as much as I could, but as soon as I heard she was in assisted living I went to see her and as soon as she came home, I was there to see her.  I could be there more but the drive is taxing to make all the time.  If it was 15 minutes, I’d see her more often for sure.

The next week is going to be full.  I’m traveling to OKC Monday – Wednesday and then getting on a plane again Thursday and staying until Wednesday.  I’m taking time off work too so that will be nice.  It’s shitty circumstances but I’m looking forward to seeing the family.

Tonight is going to be an early night so that I can get up for Boot Camp in the morning so I’m trying to not go to Scott’s.  I always feel guilty if I don’t go over there and they’re home.  It’s ridiculous and I know that but I do.

On a lighter note.  Laura over at History of a Woman kindly nominated me for a Liebster Award.  THANK YOU!  I feel so special.  I nominated some people a couple of weeks ago for this but I want to go ahead and answer her questions, because that’s always fun and it’s a good distraction from all the family stuff that’s going on.

1. What made you choose the title for your blog?

Well, originally it was Blundering through life like a bull in a china shop or sometimes a ninja.  But that’s long.  Although it’s incredibly fitting…I have a habit of walking in (metaphorically) and smashing shit up…or stealthily sneaking in and out before anyone notices.  😉

2. What was your very first post about? Link it up!

Almost Up…

3. What do you think was the best post you ever wrote?

I think my best has been Disloyal Order of Orange Buffalo, because I felt like it was one of the more challenging writing challenges that I took on.

4. You’re at your computer (where ever you blog most from)…What is sitting close to hand?

Phone, giant cup of water, headset, dishes from breakfast and lunch and two monitors with a docking station.

5. Do you always order the same thing when you go out or do you like to try new foods?  Depends on where I’m at…sometimes I really want the same thing I had last time.  For instance, HFG has a burger called the Big Contradiction.  It’s a veggie (real veggie, not that tofu weirdo pretend beef patty) patty with bacon, cheese and avocado.  I almost ALWAYS order this because it’s amazing.

6. What was the first blog you found online that you fell in “blog love” with?

Not a Punk Rocker and History of a Woman.  (Not kissing ass, promise)  I kinda felt like I met my people when I was reading their blogs.  Thanks ladies!

7. What’s your most favorite piece of clothing you own?

YOGA.PANTS.SPORTSBRA.  Daily outfit…

8. If you were trapped on an island and could only have one book with you, what book would you bring?

I’m going to cheat here just a little…DragonLance Chronicles by Weis and Hickman.  This was / is an amazing book and I bawled off and on through it.  I’d read it repeatedly if it didn’t take so long.

9. What’s something new you have learned recently?

That owls aren’t always wise?  That if a tree falls in a forest it still makes a sound?  Just kidding.  It was some work mumbo jumbo I learned today that would be lost in translation.

10. Who is your favorite author?

This is a really hard one…I don’t have any ONE favorite author.  I’ll read almost anything by James Rollins, but he’s not my all time favorite.  Short list: Diana Gabaldon, Kelley Armstrong, Kim Harrison, Margaret Atwood, James Rollins, Greg Iles, and Emily Green.

11. What’s the corniest joke you know?

Guy walks into a bar…the other one ducks…

Happy Wednesday all and have a great rest of the week!

6 comments on “Lots, lots, lots and Lots…

  • Okay, I’m going to check the other links in a bit, but first off, I’m so sorry about your grandmother. I know this is a tough time. I’m glad I was able to bring you a smile.

    I also love the original title for your blog. Lovely, and long, but lovely!

    And I can’t believe I’m on your list of blog lovin’. My ego just went through the roof, which is quite amazing. I thought it was already entirely too large.

    You are awesome. Keep doing what you do.

  • I am very sorry to hear about your grandmother. I hope you have a safe, uneventful trip up to see her. Wishing you, her and your family peace during this time.

    Thank you for the shoutout *blushes*. I don’t think I have been given a compliment like that before!

    What Laura said is right, you do belong here. You have a lot to share and you do it well. 🙂

    ((hugs))

  • Leave a Reply

