“Hi! My name is Olaf and I like warm hugs!”

Published April 3, 2014 by Tritrigirl

Yes, Frozen.  Yes, lots of Frozen was watched over the course of the last week.  But I’d happily sit through it a ba-zillion more times just to have that little boy come climb in my lap, snuggle in and watch.  He also liked Rio when I had him watch it, but everyone prefers Frozen, as do I, but you gotta change it up a bit.

There’s been a lot this past week.  Listening to the frustration, anger and sadness of my brother and sister in law towards my dad, stepmom, youngest brother and his girlfriend.  Seeing my parents getting ready to put another house on the market and effectively abandoning another child of the L-train Clan with nary a care in the world is also sad.  They may care, but they hide it well if they do.

When I graduated high school, my mom had already moved to Texas to work on her PhD and my dad and stepmom hurriedly put the house on the market, packed up my brothers, and left for northern Idaho.  Effectively abandoning me.  Even though I had a plan.  When the plan didn’t work out, thankfully my mom had a place for me to land.  So I understand Josh’s hurt, anger and betrayal.  It’s worse for him because there’s a grandbaby involved.  They live a mile away and virtually never see each other because of the issues between them all.  Over the years I’ve gotten used to being left out of family events and more or less written off (I left, I don’t have a husband and a family, they don’t approve of Scott, etc, etc), so it’s easy for me to tell them to just shrug it off, with a “fuck you too.”  But they aren’t there yet.  And I totally get it.  I love those guys.  I’ve gotten closer to them in the past few years than I have in the past 7 and it’s been awesome.  I hate to say the baby brought us together, but he totally has and every day I’m glad for it.

I’d love to live by them.  Even perused some homes in the area earlier today in-between trying to find a canine orthopedic surgeon (that stories coming) and getting caught up on work.  Found a couple things I could afford, but not a lot.  After living in my house for a few years I decided that if I bought another house, it would be new-ish.  Don’t get me wrong, I love older homes, but unless the work has been done ($$$$$) or you are super magically handy (as I am not) then they’re hard to deal with.  Gimme a new-ish place that has relatively energy efficient windows already, flooring that I don’t HAVE to replace, or HVAC systems that I don’t HAVE to replace.  Choosing to paint the walls, cabinets, and choosing to yank up the carpet for laminate is way more my style.  If I ever do marry someone or permanently attach myself to someone, he will have to be handy.  I might even put it on a questionnaire…you know I’m getting older (guffaw) I don’t have time to dilly-dally around these important items…are you handy?  can you change the oil in the car?  can you drive a stick shift?  will you promise to kill the roaches and / or handle any rodent infestations?  and can you grill?  and can you make kick ass pancakes?  (my dad still does)  I promise to provide delicious meals at least once a day either by old fashioned cooking or take out (I will even prep all the BBQ for you to grill).  I promise to NOT nag you about leaving your undies on the floor as long as they aren’t hanging from the ceiling fan.  I will ensure you have clean and non-smelly clothes, will even make dishes for you that I abhor on special occasions (liver, I just threw up a little in my mouth) and I will always make sure your fly is up.  Because those are the things you do for people you care about…unless I’m cooking 15 things in the kitchen at once, in which case, back the fuck out and go price me a dual oven stove, NOW.  😛  Serious tangent there.

Anyway, I spent an amazing amount of time with my nephew.  He’s completely got my heart.  Everyone thinks theirs is the smartest but even though he doesn’t say a lot my nephew is wicked smart.  And his giggle…holy cow, I will do the silliest things just to hear that.  LOVE.HIM.TO.PIECES.

We did see Grandma quite a bit but she was inundated with family so I was worried we were overwhelming her and we didn’t get to see her before I left.  I hope she’ll be around in a few months when I go back.  The visits we did have were good and while we couldn’t get her to eat all her meals we were able to talk her into chocolate cake one afternoon.  Hey, at 74 she can have cake for every meal as far as I’m concerned if it gets her to eat.

Everything else seemed to have survived here while I was gone.  It was with a heavy heart that I came home.  Seriously I miss them all already.  I was stupid and watched Frozen on the plane home…and cried.

The only catastrophe here was that my idjit mutt, Oreo, jumped through a hole in the fence and tore his ACL.  Yes, this is the same dog who downed 14 chocolate bars not too long ago.  This is also the same mutt who ate a bunch of rat poison last July (he was fine) and a bunch of roach motels a few months before that.  But this one really got him.  Scott’s losing his mind.  This shit is gonna cost us around $3000-$4000 and because he already has stage 3 arthritis in his knees if we don’t do the surgery he’ll be significantly debilitated with pain and arthritis in 6 months to a year.  He’s 6, lots of life left there.  So I’m currently calling surgeons in the area to get a ballpark estimate and make sure they take our credit card for the vet.  (0% interest for 12 – 18 months – Thank goodness)  I’m expecting to take him to get consults next week.  We’ve already narrowed it down to 2 vets.  Hopefully surgery in the next week or two, then 6 weeks – 2 months of rehab.  Which means no rambunctious Oreo’s….which is a hysterical thought.  We’re even talking about crating him at night…he hasn’t been crated since we got him.  Honestly, I’m thinking of moving him to my house and sleeping downstairs with him.  Because rehab means, no stairs, no jumping, no crazy Heeler antics.  Sigh.

I hope everyone is doing well in WP land.  Question…what’s this CampNanoWriMo you speak of (I refuse to add the hastag)?  Anyone, Bueller?

So for now I leave you with…ah yes…Love is an Open Door – Frozen (You’re welcome)

Anna: Okay, can I just, say something crazy?

Hans: I love crazy!

Anna: All my life has been a series of doors in my face
And then suddenly I bumped into you

Hans: I was thinking the same thing! ‘Cause like
I’ve been searching my whole life to find my own place
And maybe it’s the party talking or the chocolate fondue

Anna: But with you
Hans: But with you

Hans: I found my place
Anna: I see your face

Both: And it’s nothing like I’ve ever known before
Love is an open door
Love is an open door
Love is an open door

Anna: With you
Hans: With you
Anna: With you
Hans: With you

Both: Love is an open door

Hans: I mean it’s crazy
Anna: What?

Hans: We finish each other’s
Anna: Sandwiches

Hans: That’s what I was gonna say!

Anna: I’ve never met someone

Both: Who thinks so much like me
Jinx! Jinx again!
Our mental synchronization
Can have but one explanation

Hans: You
Anna: And I
Hans: Were
Anna: Just

Both: Meant to be

Anna: Say goodbye
Hans: Say goodbye

Both: To the pain of the past
We don’t have to feel it any more
Love is an open door
Love is an open door
Life can be so much more

Anna:
With you
Hans:
With you
Anna:
With you
Hans:
With you

Both:
Love is an open door

1970700_10203447860819923_652646587_n

Yeah, that cutie on the left.  That’s my favorite munchkin.

Leave a Reply

