25 Days of Songs….It’s gon be a party up in here!

Published May 1, 2014 by Tritrigirl

Stealing this challenge from TwinDaddy just sounds like a good thing (Thanks for the idea Alice).

So here’s the scoop:

25-songs-blog-challenge5

Since I suck at posting over the weekends I will either make a concentrated effort just for you lovely peeps or I’ll play catch up on Mondays.  Also, I’m not so good with the video postings so you’ll have to employ Google or Bing or whatever search engine you trust the most to get you to your musical experience.  And now, let the fun begin!

Day 1 – A song from you childhood.

Pencil Thin Mustache – Jimmy Buffet

I remember Sundays….Sundays were the day that my parents broke out the record player and went through Jimmy Buffet, The Eagles, Dan Fogleburg (Dave?), Dire Straits, and even (at my request) The Monkees among others while we cleaned the house.  But the song that always seemed to stick out to me was Pencil Thin Mustache.  I had no idea what the references were about (Brill cream, Skye’s niece Penny, Boston Blacky, etc) and would pepper my dad with questions.  I’m sure he was entertained by my making up my own words since I had no idea what they were talking about.  I will forever remember the smell of the record player and the stuff you put on the felt thingy to clean the dust off the records.  The smell of clean carpet and sunshine and Jimmy Buffet playing through the speakers.  I was probably 5-7 years old.  When my parents were still married.

I was lucky enough last year to see Jimmy in concert finally and to hear him play this song.  I could have cried.  The experience was so amazing for me and I loved every minute of it.

“Now they’re makin’ movies in old black and white…happy endings where no body fights, but if you find yourself in the nostalgic rage, honey jump right up and show your age!  That’s why I wish I had a pencil thin mustache, the Boston Blacky kind, a two-toned Ricky Ricardo jacket and autographed picture of Andy Devine…now that I’m old, I don’t wear underwear, I don’t go to church and don’t cut my hair but I can go to movies and see it all there, just the way that it used to be…Now I remember bein’ buck toothed and skinny, writing fan letters to Skye’s niece Penny, oh I wish I had a pencil thin mustache and I could do some cruising too…yeah, Brill cream, a little dab’ll do ya!  Oh I could do some cruising too!”   (From memory!!)

A song of nostalgia for a time of nostalgia.  Happy Thursday all!

 

8 comments on “25 Days of Songs….It’s gon be a party up in here!

  • Oh, I remember that song. My mother broke that cassette in the car from listening to it so much. The “autographed picture of Andy Devine” reference was weird to me because I knew him as the friar from the animated “Robin Hood”. I only found out years later he had an actual film career that didn’t involve being a cartoon animal. Yeah, I was super smart.

    Looking forward to seeing the rest of your list!

  • Leave a Reply

