Music, Music, Music and Share the World!

Published May 5, 2014 by Tritrigirl

Oh boy!  You get a THREE-FUR today!!

First Up!

25-songs-blog-challenge5

 Days 4 & 5:

Day 4 – A song that calms you down – Imagine Dragons – On Top of the World – This song always helps me find something to feel good about because hey – I’m on top of the world.  No matter how upset I am, no matter how angry, I can pull myself up and find something to smile about.  (Obnoxiously optimistic, I know)

Day – 5 – A song that is often stuck in your head – For the last week or so or maybe more, thanks to THIS POST.  It’s been It’s Tricky – Run DMC.  It’s been there at random times and even beat out Thunderstruck yesterday while I was racing.  Sigh.  Thanks Sheena.  🙂

Steve’s Music Mix Monday:

In case you were comatose after finishing a triathlon here’s the skinny:

“Here’s a reminder how it works:

Each week I will post 3 new questions so…

(1) Go to the music player of your choice and put it on shuffle
(2) Say the questions aloud and press play
(3) Use the song title as your answers
(4) NO CHEATING

 Title your post “Steve’s Music Mix – …” and link back to this week’s page.

Post your response in the comment section of that week’s page.”

Shuffle the magic media player aaaannnndddd:

I’m on…?   Mysterious Way – U2

Comments: LOVE. THIS. SONG. The high of being a mysterious woman?  Sure, why not?  Mysterious ways or nonsensical nonsense?  A little of column A and a little of column B.

I’m in…? Desperately Wanting – Better Than Ezra

Comments: “I remember running through the wet grass, falling a step behind, both of us never tiring, desperately wanting…” I think this may have a bigger metaphorical meaning than my brain is capable of today.  Or maybe not.  “When they ask why we run….”  I get that lots.  Why do you torture yourself with triathlons that leave you all jello-y and exhausted…because I’m in throes of a deep love of the exercise high…the camaraderie of the sport…the love of the feeling of giving your all…and then I magically forget how hard it all was and just remember the good…kinda like childbirth (or so I hear).  That was rather be-labored.

I’m over…? Back 2 Good – Matchbox Twenty

Comments: I’m SO OVER trying to make things good.  I can’t control it.  I do what I can and if the other person can’t hold up their end….well, why should I bother any more?

Share Your World – Week 18

Cee’s Photography is once again delving the depths of my psyche.  I saw beautiful wild flowers I wanted to share with her this weekend, alas, I was over half way through 11 miles on the bike without a camera and needing to get to end of the ride.

What object do you always have with you when traveling and why?

The usual toiletries.  But I always bring bubble bath if I’m going to be in hotels.  I love hotel baths.  Larger than mine at home usually.  Also take along PJ (Princess Junior) my mini unicorn pillow pet.  Because purple unicorns are “SO FLUFFY I’M GONNA DIE!” (name that movie)

What subject would you like to study in depth, if given the time to do so?

I would either like to study Early English Literature, one of my college English classes that I really, really enjoyed and would like to study further or Epidemiology due to my fascination and obsession with epidemics and disease.  Sounds gross but it’s terribly interesting and I love it.

Which would you prefer:  a wild, turbulent life filled with joy, sorrow, passion, and adventure–intoxicating successes and stunning setbacks; or a contented bordering on happy, secure, predictable life surrounded by friends and family without such wide swings of fortune and mood?

Well, the dreamer in me thinks that a wild, turbulent life filled with joy, sorrow, passion and adventure-intoxication successes and stunning setbacks sounds far more romantic and exciting that contented happy, secure and predictable.  Drama is drama and too much drama sucks.  So I wouldn’t mind all the wild crazy it if was punctuated by moments on calm and relaxation.  But I’m flexible and think that I can roll with almost anything.  I’m a survivor (or so I kept reminding myself yesterday) and I can do anything if I set myself on that path.  Usually it’s not that I can’t do or handle something, it’s that I’m not ready yet, but I will be.  And you can totally be on my zombie apocalypse team, because I have a plan.  I have a vision and together, we will get through it!

What are your favorite spices?

Hmmmm.  I usually go with an Italian montage when cooking.  Although whatever goes into BBQ seasoning is quite good.  And I love curry.  Just not all 3 at the same time.  Ground peppercorns get thrown on almost anything I cook.  I’ve also recently discovered cumin.  Seems to be the key ingredient in fajita seasoning (Happy Cinco de Mayo!).

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Last week – My best friend Stephanie, had a successful c-section of Baby #2 and he’s adorable and she’s doing well and Baby #1 is learning to adjust to being a sibling.  I survived my first triathlon of the season and managed to shave a minute off last year’s time overall by some miracle (slower on the swim and run but shaved a whole 5 minutes off my bike time).

This week – Joining the Tough Cookies team for the remainder of the Tri Season (May – Sept) I need the motivation and I need the camaraderie to help me get through.  I won’t be doing any 5:45 boot-y camps I don’t think because I feel that I get more strength-wise out of Body Pump, but I might scale back the Body Pump in a few months once my weight comes down and get back to boot-y camp.  Well see.  5:45 is really, really early.

A full debrief on the race will be coming up soon!  Peace out, yo!

9 comments on “Music, Music, Music and Share the World!

  • Are you saying it’s tricky to rock a rhyme, or rock a rhyme that’s right on time? 😉

    Holy megapost, Batman! Looking forward to seeing your update about the race this weekend 🙂

    • It’s tricky, tricky, tricky.

      Seriously, I usually try to sing Thunderstruck when I’m riding but I’d get “Thunder, nah, nah, nah..” when suddenly I’d get “It’s tough to rock a rhyme or rock a rhyme that’s right on time, it’s tricky, it’s tricky, tricky, tricky..” HA HA HA HA HA

  • Leave a Reply

