Day 13 of Music

Published May 13, 2014 by Tritrigirl

25 songs 25 days

So today we’re on Day 13 – A song that reminds of you a former friend.

Well, that would be 50 Cent – In Da Club

Lemme ‘splain.  Brenda and I met in college.  We had the same major and being at a small state university it wasn’t often I met someone else in the Microbiology program but since we had AT least 8 classes together we inevitably became friends bonding over our smoking, love of Sonic and the physics class were we taking.  This song was frequently on the radio at the time we were all doing some major lab work so it sorta became “our song.”

Fast forward I helped her get a job at the research place I was working and eventually we ended up in the same CRA role.  She hated Scott from the moment she met him.  She hated listening to my sob stories and repeatedly told me to leave him.  The straw that broke the camel’s back was when I was at my happy hour leaving the company after 7 years and apparently got extremely intoxicated and was hitting on a mutual friend.  I have no recollection of this.  She was married to someone else and she laid into me the next day for “freaking” our friend out.  WTF?  After that and with the help of working for another company we parted ways.

Apparently she’s popped out a couple of babies now which surprises me given how selfish she always was (think spoiled oldest daughter).  She even went so far as to tell another mutual friend to NOT tell me she’d had a baby (WTF?  Did she think I was gonna steal it?).  A couple years after the happy hour, when MySpace was still the place and FB was unheard of, she apparently emailed Scott on Myspace and told him she missed me and was so sorry about everything that had happened.  But couldn’t be bothered to tell me directly.  Our mutual friend who wasn’t supposed to tell me of the baby, who was also our college friend, kept encouraging me to reach out to her.  I’m stubborn as all get out and am not going to reach out to her.  As far as I’m concerned she couldn’t be supportive of my relationship with Scott and if she missed me that much and was sorry to have lost me from her life she can put on her big girl panties and call me.  My number hasn’t changed.

The irony is that I’ve gotten a reminder in my email to send her a birthday today.  I hope where ever she is, she’s happy and no longer wish her a short walk off a long cliff (okay, I never wished that on her because…KARMA) but I don’t feel like I’m missing much from not having her in my life anymore.  If she were to ever contact me, I’d hesitantly strike up the friendship again, but I’m not so in need of friends to seek her out.

Happy Tuesday and peace out YO!

5 comments on “Day 13 of Music

  • Ah, the passive aggressive “tell everyone else you are sorry except for the person you should be telling” apology. Ugh. Why does life feel like high school still?

    I do like that song though 😀

  • Leave a Reply

