Ow my butt, ow my head, ow my butt, ow my head, ow my butt…

Published April 17, 2015 by Tritrigirl

I ran / walked / hobbled 12 miles last Saturday as my last long run before my last Half Marathon for awhile.  Then I went and stood at the TC tent for the Cap 10K Expo in Austin.  Needless to say that by Saturday night and into Sunday I HURT.  It was really mainly my butt…before you get too excited there, let me rephrase, my left IT Band and hamstring HURT.

For anyone that doesn’t know the IT band runs from your hip to you knee and is infamous for causing lots and lots of pain in runners and triathletes who skimp on the stretching.  For some reason since I sprained my ankle my IT band has caused all sort of havoc and pain leading me to a chiropractor and PT last year.  They gave me exercises and stretches and I used a foam roller religiously but…then I started slacking…and then while doing sprint repeats I felt it pull.  Not a true pulled muscle but enough to make me back off and rethink some things.  Like sprint repeats, for instance.

So now I’m back to constant stretching, trying to remember to do exercises and foam rolling.  Today, almost a week after the 12 miles, is the first time my body feels more or less “normal.”  I’m sore as hell from Body Pump and running work out but I have managed to go up and down the stairs today without having to yell about it.  I’m supposed to go swim this afternoon and Body Pump has pretty well reduced my shoulders to mush.  And I’m tired.  Yet again.  I should be pushing myself to get out there and go do it.  I know in my heart that I NEED to go do it.  But really, I just want to take a nap.  So I may just take a nap then go swim.  I napped before track the other day and it was brilliant!  I woke up ready to go!

The first tri is in 2 weeks.  I’m not REMOTELY ready.  AT ALL.  I should want to be ready. I should be excited.  But really I’m just looking longingly up the stairs at my bed.  It’s not depression, my meds have been good and I know this is just a temporary thing.  Hell, I may need the shitty race to help me get my act together.  So for now, I’m going to finish up my work day, take a nap and then see where the afternoon goes.

Besides, I have an 7 mile run scheduled for tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

