Oh That Damn Phone…

Published July 9, 2015 by Tritrigirl

Question #3 from the 36 Questions to create intimacy and love.  You know you wanna try this.  Here’s the info.

Now here’s the question:

Before making a telephone call do you ever rehearse what you are going to say? Why?

Honestly, this depends on who I am calling and why.  If it’s an internal call for work then not usually.  If I have to call the client or one of our sites then yes.  If I have to have a serious talk with one of my CRAs, yes.  Although I’ll be honest, I do hope for voicemail a lot of times.

For personal calls only if it’s a “serious” call.  Or if I’m calling, say pest control or a mechanic or for someone to come fix something.

I think I rehearse because it allows me to collect my thoughts, to ensure I get all the information in that I need to and so I don’t feel like an idiot.  Although to be perfectly honest I do sometimes feel like an idiot any way.  You should hear me on our conference calls.  

In other completely unrelated news:

1) I have a triathlon this weekend.  I’m not really looking forward to it.  I’m in one of the last waves and am TERRIFIED of being last.

2) Some of the chicks on my Tough Cookies team put together a “team” to enter the Nike Women’s Half Marathon in San Francisco.  Approximately 20,000 women run…I’d wager twice that many sign up for the random draw entry.  The race is SO HUGE that they have to randomly draw entries from the pile.  The way the team thing works is that if you sign up as a team and ONE person gets picked your entire team gets registered for the race.  Well…there were only 6 of us on our team AND WE’RE GOING!   Holy fucking shit, I am going to San Francisco to run this INSANE race with INSANE elevation changes.  This was not my idea.  I’ve been to San Francisco and I know what the terrain is like, but my friend talked me into it.  And honestly, our chances of getting in were so slim that I didn’t think it would happen.  Although I did dream it happened the night before.  Now we’re going.  Flights are booked, hotels reserved.  The shit just got real y’all.

Have a great Thursday!

Leave a Reply

