You’ve Got a Friend in Me…

Published July 28, 2015 by Tritrigirl

Good morning!  No, okay, let’s not be that perky cuz I am really not feeling it.  Stayed up too late because I made dinner too late…because someone didn’t take the chicken out of the freezer sooner…and normally I’d go ahead and start cooking it when it’s frozen just cooking it slower, but last night I was frying up some Wendy’s Spicy chicken breasts so they had to be thawed.  Anyway let’s get on with the show!

#16. What do you value most in a friendship?

I love it when you have good friends who you can go for weeks, even months without really seeing or talking to them and then pick up where you left off when you do get together.  Those people I feel like I can be myself with, that I can be honest with and have a connection.  In my former job I traveled A LOT, we’re talking Monday through Thursday in a lot of cases and I did it for 9 years.  It was hard to maintain friendships and honestly I’m amazed Scott stuck around, but I have a couple of friends that have stuck with me and one of them is my friend Stephanie.  Stephanie and I met at the training class for my former job 9 years ago.  We got to be friends because we were Stephanie’s.  Then we learned we had a lot in common and grew to be really good friends.  She’s still my favorite of my Austin friends.  She’s honest, she doesn’t try to hide her insecurities, she’s real, and she’s awesome.  We go months with only text check ins periodically because she has toddlers and well anyone who has toddlers knows what it’s like.  She’s busy, but that’s okay.  I love her boys too, great kids, too stinking cute.

What do you value most in a friendship?

In other news I actually had a great open water swim last night.  Very unexpected.  One of my teammates and I didn’t want to drive all the way out to Lake Travis (45-60 minutes with traffic) so we decided to swim in Lake Pville, which is where 2 of the triathlons take place anyway.  We worked on some technique for open water and decided that in the future, we’ll swim in the pool so we can get in actual work outs.  Open water swim is really more about comfort and I’m certainly comfortable.  I’ve also managed to get back into the habit of shutting my brain off and just swimming, which is what I used to do before I got uber paranoid of things swimming into my face (traumatic “rope snake” episode to be shared at a later date).  I have a race Sunday.  I’m not exactly looking forward to it, but I am excited that the bike course is a different route than previous races held there.  I’m hoping to finish in about 2 hours.  It’ll be hot.

Have a great day all!

Leave a Reply

