Mummy Dearest

Published August 17, 2015 by Tritrigirl

Happy Monday all!

Friday I got to go see Jennifer Weiner talk and got a book signed at one of our local bookstores.  It was amazing!  If you’ve read her before I recommend seeing her if ever possible.  That chick is HILARIOUS.  Anytime a chick takes off her shoes and admits that while they are cute they hurt like hell and then states in the first 5 minutes that “I am out of fucks to give” you know you’re in for a good time.  And if you haven’t read her and like chick lit go get Good In Bed.

Right now.  I’ll wait.  Go.  1-Click Buy on Amazon.  You’ll thank me later.

My “dream team” panel of lady novelists would be Jenny Lawson (aka The Bloggess), Jen Lancaster, Jennifer Weiner, Kim Harrison, Laurel K. Hamilton, Diana Gabaldon and Phillipa Gregory.  At one table with me and bottomless mimosas and sangria.

I’ve decided that Lawson, Lancaster and Weiner are now to be called “Jen Cubed”.  They will be my best friends.  They will be the ones to talk me into getting the red minnie mouse halter top from Torrid that I’ve been eyeballing for months but am terrified to get and then they will take me out in it where I will meet Tom Hardy or Jai Courtney (can’t decide right now) and he will fall madly in love with me and sweep me off my feet.  I will reconsider my decision to procreate and pop out 2 beautiful Tom / Jai babies and live happily ever after.  BWAH HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA.  Although I don’t think changing poopie diapers fits into “happily ever after.”

Which is a PERFECT segue into today’s question! (Admit it, you’re feeling a little more fondness for me this morning.  Or maybe you need more coffee)

#24. How do you feel about your relationship with your mother?

Since I have two moms…kinda.  I’ll evaluate both.

My mom and I have a good relationship.  We’re more like friends than mother / daughter.  She doesn’t treat me like I’m a kid as she does with my brother.  We call each other for advice, we rarely fight and we’re a lot alike.  I know how alike we are so I try extremely hard not to be too much like her.  Because while I love her dearly, she sometimes gets annoying (as I’m sure so do I).  The only thing I would change in our relationship is that I do wish we lived closer.  Not necessarily in the same city but within driving distance.  Not states apart.  I like getting to hang out with her.  We see each other probably twice a year or so.  Usually once up in Idaho and then once in Texas.  

My stepmom and I have a decent relationship.  We don’t talk much anymore.  We see each other maybe once a year or so.  It’s definitely not a bad relationship, we keep in touch mainly on Facebook, but we’re not close anymore.  Partly that’s because of her.  I’ve found out in the past that she’s shared things I’ve said in confidence that shouldn’t have been shared.  She makes snide comments to me about my relationship choices on occasion.  Most of it I let roll off my back, but she’s supported an estrangement between her, my youngest brother, my dad and my other brother.  (Them versus him) They couldn’t even be bothered to go see their newest grandson when he was born in June.  That breaks my heart and I don’t understand it.  

Overall I have positive relationships with my moms.  

Have a great Monday.  And seriously go get that book!

Leave a Reply

