New Journeys

Published April 4, 2016 by Tritrigirl

Howdy y’all!  It’s certainly been some time again.  And there’s been some pretty intense changes too.

Sum up: French Fry lives solely with him Mom and is currently at a therapeutic boarding school, Tater Tot lives solely with his Dad and is doing well, I had a wave of almost constant heart palpitations that sent me to the cardiologist but ended up being nothing to worry about in the end, I think I put my self into major fatigue last fall due to too many back to back races (think Triathlon Labor day, Half marathon the following weekend, 2 weeks later triathlon, next day 4 mile race, 2 weeks later half marathon, 2 weeks later 10 mile race), started Fallout 4, did not make a themed Thanksgiving dinner, had Christmas in Coeur d’Alene, saw Star Wars, saw Star Wars again, Grandma Doreen died in January, Mom was hospitalized in February and now has a chronic condition that is sending her to the Mayo Clinic in May, saw Deadpool, finished Fallout 4, Blueberry had a liver infection that has since resolved, restarted Fallout 4, went to Canada for Spring Break, read all 3 Shades of Grey books over 5 days, Fallout 4 DLC released, went to Boise for Easter, I’ve decided to take this season of triathlon off for the time being, started Weight Watchers and I think that’s the end to possibly the longest run on sentence I’ve ever written and I’m going to walk away from it before I compulsively decide to edit it.

So, to start taking the season off of triathlon.  That’s a painful thing for me to think about but, given how tired of it I am.  How much I DON’T want to train, hell I don’t really even want to run right now, I need to take the time off.  I’m going to focus on my overall fitness and work on my endurance.  I don’t need the pressure on myself because I think I may crack after all the races I put my body through over the course of 2 months last fall.  They were amazing, they were a lot of fun, but the heart palpitations scared the shit out of me.  In the end it was PVCs (pre-ventricular contractions) meaning the part of my heart was starting the beat before the rest of it was ready.  My cardiologist said that unless I had heart attack or stroke symptoms not to worry and recommended adding Calcium Magnesium supplements.  Not sure if they help or not, but I don’t have the palpitations as often now.

So Weight Watchers.  This is weird for me.  I’ve never really done it but a friend of mine and I decided to do a friendly competition to see who could lost the most weight in 3 months.  Basically we both need the motivation and my hope is that this will jump start me.  I’m the heaviest I’ve been in years and I’m tired of it.  For those that don’t know Weight Watchers takes your age, weight and gender throws it into a magic algorithm and decides how many “points” you get a day and some extra to be used during the week.  Food is rated by calories, fiber and sugar (I think) to get the point score.  Most vegetables and all fruit have 0 points.  I get 34 a day with 42 “splurge” points. I’ve got 10 left for today after breakfast and lunch.  We’ll see what I end up with at the end of the day.

Now I did start out the year trying to track calories thanks to one of many apps for the android and was actually doing okay.  Honestly it even motivated me to work out more because then I got extra calories for the day.  Weight Watchers does not do that.  Since I’m curious I’ve decided to track everything in both the Weight Watchers app and the Noom Weight Loss app to see a) which one is more realistic, b) which one is easier to follow, and c) whether or not WW is worth the money.  I’ve heard conflicting opinions.  Realistically I have a few goals with all of this:

  1. Jump start weight loss (nothing motivates more than results)
  2. Re-evaluate how I eat and make healthier changes
  3. Get to a point where there’s little to no thought or guesswork, as in it’s second nature.

Here’s how:

  1. Use of apps – working both Noom and WW
  2. WW meetings (vomit, so far not a fan, but I get the idea)
  3. Work out 4-5 days a week minimum.  It is more than feasible to work out daily, ideally I’d like to get to that point, even if it’s just a yoga class or a long walk.
  4. Simple diet overhaul.
    1. Typically Saturdays are long work outs, so splurges are allowed on long work out days as more calories are burned than other days.  This can also be the time to use my “weekly splurge points” from WW.
    2. More vegetables, they fill you up
    3. Minimal drinking, mostly on splurge days and special occasions.
    4. Less eating out
      1. This can be accomplished by pre-cooking up meals and meat
      2. for easy use when I’m too tired or uninspired to cook.
      3. Saving eating out for splurge days

Realistically it’s not hard, but I know it will be challenging.  So here goes nothing.

 

 

4 comments on “New Journeys

  • Hey stranger!

    I am reconsidering WW again (tricky, given my history, but not impossible) but yeah…the meetings…if the leader didn’t drive me crazy, the cliques would. Who knew there was “assigned seating”? I guess it’s like any other organization that has meetings, got to find one that works, especially if accountability is your thing.

    • I was looking for you yesterday and was sad to see I couldn’t find you…and then you I saw your icon this morning and thought, “Could it be? Why who else would have Deadpool in a pig outfit??” I clicked and saw the Legos and knew that I’d found you again!!! 🙂 Glad to hear from you!!

      After 24 hours I think I’m totally over WW. Comparing the trackers I am using I’m going way under calories, which is great for quick and substantial weight loss, but not when you’re an athlete. We’ll see how this first week goes.

      • Yay! I was just thinking of you the other day, as my phone reminds me I am supposed to be doing “Baby Steps to 5K”.

        I liked the fomulas behind WW and accountability but yeah, I would dual-track too in myfitnesspal for the heck of it and even at full points I was still way under calories. not good for my mindset. Besides, while the accountability is what I needed and do well with, the overly *something* meeting leaders and meeting groups in my area didn’t help much.

        Here’s hoping you find what you need and works for you soon 🙂

      • Yeah, the people were weird. There was a little bit of shaming for having a cinnamon roll on Easter. I mean WTF? They claim you aren’t supposed to deny yourself, so something like that once in a while shouldn’t be that big of deal.

  • Leave a Reply

